Lonely by Janice Mikesell

LONELY-

SURROUNDED BY FAMILY AND FRIENDS

OR SITTING IN THE DARK ALL ALONE

CHATTING ON FACEBOOK OR

TALKING ON THE PHONE

I FEEL AN ACHE IN MY HEART AND

DEEP IN MY STOMACH TOO

I WONDER WHY I ALWAYS

FEEL SO BLUE

 

I FEEL ISOLATED

I FEEL DESPONDENT

AND THE PRESCRIPTIONS NEVER REALLY

MAKE IT BETTER

OFTEN ALL THAT HELPS IS TO WEEP

AS I WRITE

A POEM OR A LETTER

 

MENTAL ISOLATION AND EMPTINESS

PLAGUE SO VERY MANY PEOPLE

SADLY IT NEVER GOES AWAY

NO MATTER WHAT WE TRY

SOMETIMES ALL YOU CAN DO IS

SIT ALONE AND CRY

Leave a Reply

