Meditation

How to Meditate

this website shows a lot of useful information about meditating.  I also recently downloaded an app on my android phone called Headspace.  It’s really enjoyable to just lay down on the floor or in the recliner and meditate.  Normally throughout the day, I clinch and grind my teeth and my mind is always busy.  I like the Headspace app because it’s guided meditation.  Someday’s I like to be guided and other days, I like to just do my own thing.  I have had a specific way of meditating for years now.  I get in a comfortable spot, put my headphones on and listen to the album by Pink Floyd called The Division Bell.  I start at the top of my head and relax all the muscles in my body.  I imagine walking down a big set of red velvet steps and at the top of the steps are my worry and fear.  Each step I take to go the bottom, I leave a worry or fear behind me.  I also feel the support of the floor or wherever I am.  It may sound crazy, but sometimes I imagine that I’m laying on a feather, I’m weightless and floating through the air.  Even if it’s just for 15 or 20 minutes, I am free from worry and fear and my mind is quiet.  Thanks to my daughter, Kaelin, I sometimes have Kava Kava tea before I start.  It doesn’t taste the best in my opinion (I think it tastes like the smell of a bandaid) but it’s very powerful for relaxation.  Incense and essential oils and various herbs work well too.

“Tension is who you think you should be.  Relaxation is who you are.” Chinese proverb

 

 

Leave a Reply

